Discussions
Categories
Groups
Community Home
Categories
INTERNAL ENABLEMENT
POPULAR
PUBLIC CLOUD
PRIVATE CLOUD
Quick Links
MY LINKS
HELPFUL TIPS
Back to website
Home
Web CMS (TeamSite)
Change Branch locking model
wdwoolwi
Good morning.
I was wondering if there was a way to change the locking model on an existing Branch?
We've been running this branch for about 3 or 4 months so there's a significant amount of content which I would rather not loose. We're currently in a Submit Lock model and I would like to change it to mandatory write lock.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Wade
Find more posts tagged with
Comments
Adam Stoller
I do not believe there is any way to change the locking model of an existing branch (and I believe that is documented in the Administrator's Guide - and has been for quite some time).
The "traditional" way to do this is to:
1. Create a new empty branch with the proper settings adjacent to the branch with the wrong settings
2. Create a new workarea on the new branch
3. Do a Copy To Area of the entire contents of the STAGING area into the new workarea on the new branch
4. Submit the contents of the new workarea on the new branch
5. Rename the old branch (e.g. "foo" => "foo_old")
6. Rename the new branch (e.g. "foo_new" => "foo")
7. Recreate any and all workareas on the new branch as desired, and possibly do comparisons and copies from the old workareas on the old branch
8. Optionally delete the old branch.
The more-tedious variant of this is, rather than doing a Copy To Area from the STAGING of the old branch, to do it from one or more editions of the old branch (oldest first, most recent last) in a loop of the above process - so as to "replay the history" - of course all the dates will be wrong, but ...l
The "new" way for doing this, I believe, would involve the use of MultiStore [temporarilly]:
0. lock users out of the system by moving aside the conf/roles files or something - to prevent incidental changes from occurring while you are performing these steps.
1. Create a new editon on the branch with the wrong permissions.
3. Create a new temporary backing store (iwstoreadm)
3. copy the entire branch and as much of it's history as you want (by specifying a starting edition to copy from [e.g. from the oldest edition you care about]) to the new temporary backing store (iwmigrate)
4. rename the old branch aside (see above)
5. create a new empty branch with the right name and the right locking model, etc.
6. copy all the data back from the new temporary store into the default store (iwmigrate)
7. [optionally?] remove / delete the new temporary store
8. [optionally] delete the old branch
--fish
Senior Consultant, Quotient Inc.
http://www.quotient-inc.com
nipper
What rev of TS ?
IIRC, in 5.5X there is no way to do this.
You may need to create a new branch and move everything from the old
branch to the new one.