Discussions
Categories
Groups
Community Home
Categories
INTERNAL ENABLEMENT
POPULAR
PUBLIC CLOUD
PRIVATE CLOUD
Quick Links
MY LINKS
HELPFUL TIPS
Back to website
Home
Web CMS (TeamSite)
save and close submit location
nico
I read in a ts manual that clicking "save and close" on an edited dcr is supposed to submit it to staging. however when an author does this it does not kick off a review nor does it submit to staging. Where is the .wft located that controls this? TS552 win2k.
thanks,
Nico
Find more posts tagged with
Comments
Adam Stoller
You have to configure a workflow for the tt_data command in order for a workflow to be initiated when a DCR is saved and closed.
Maybe you need to re-read the manual or read a different one?
--fish
Senior Consultant, Quotient Inc.
http://www.quotient-inc.com
nico
from the avail template cfg file, is this correct?
<template_file name='Author DCR Submit' path='default/author_submit_dcr.wft'>
<command_list>
<command value='tt_data' />
<command value='tt_deletedcr' />
<command value='all' include='no' />
</command_list>
<role_list>
<role value='author' include='yes' allusers='yes'/>
<role value='editor' include='yes' allusers='yes'/>
<role value='all' include='no' />
</role_list>
</template_file>
Adam Stoller
yes - that should do it.
Also keep in mind that if you save and close a DCR that is *already* part of a job - you will *not* get prompted to start a new job with it.
--fish
Senior Consultant, Quotient Inc.
http://www.quotient-inc.com
nico
I've now noticed that if an author edits a dcr
selects "save and close"
They are now prompted to generate the page.
If they choose to generate the page the generated page appears and the edited template is closed in the background.
So unless the author knows where the dcr resides the edited dcr never gets submitted. This is lame.
I've instructed my authors to edit the dcr
click save
click generate
close the generated page
click the "close" button on the template which kicks off the default author dcr submit workflow
click ok to that then run job
then click submit on the original page that was brought up using smart context editor, then run job.
I would rather either they click "save and close" on the template it auto generates and submits both the asp and dcr or after they manually generate it auto submits the dcr and genterated asp page.
Is this doable? And what is causing the closure of the edited template when generating a page?
Thanks,
Nico
Johnny
It's a common problem.
Is it feasible to programmatically generate the content based on some rules (IE mirror the directory structure of the website/data directory).
If so there are plenty of posts on this topic.
A common solution is to have an external task to generate the page and attach it to the job.
That way you only ever
Edit
Preview
submit
the DCR only.
It can make things easier for the user as there is less for them to worry about as they dont generate - the workflow does it for them.
I believe some people also use formapi to do this as well.
Look around for this topic.
John Cuiuli