Discussions
Categories
Groups
Community Home
Categories
INTERNAL ENABLEMENT
POPULAR
PUBLIC CLOUD
PRIVATE CLOUD
Quick Links
MY LINKS
HELPFUL TIPS
Back to website
Home
Web CMS (TeamSite)
Archiving previous version
phd
Hello All,
During the course of using TeamSite as a content management system, we create several versions of our files. After a particular period of time, we probably want to archive some versions to a different system, so that we are in compliance with Records Information Management and we make sure that our backing store is not growing continuously.
Is there a way to selectively remove certain versions of a set of files from TeamSite and move it to an archive system. Has anyone done this before. Thanks in advance for your response.
Best Regards,
Pawan Desai
Find more posts tagged with
Comments
Adam Stoller
You should probably RTFM regarding MultiStore / iwmigrate (assuming TS 552 or later). It costs additional money to use - but it allows you to essentially create additional backing stores (MultiStore) and transfer (iwmigrate) parts of, or entire, branches from the main store to the new store, which you could then dump to a CDROM or DVDROM for archive purposes.
That method will preserve all the TS context information (history, EA's, etc.).
If you want specific editions of files to be archived as readable files (i.e. not as a backing store) - you could do that with tar / cpio / etc. where you specify the source area for your archival procedure to be the specific edition you want (e.g. tar -cvpf - /default/main/www/EDITION/ed_001 | gzip > /var/tmp/www_ed_001.tgz, or if you have a gzip-aware version of tar: tar -cvzpf /var/tmp/www_ed_001.tgz /default/main/www/EDITION/ed_001) - you can then dump the archive file onto removable media.
In either case - if you want to trim the old content from your active backing store - you'll have to use TeamSite's iwrmed CLT or go through the GUI and select the editions to delete. NOTE: The TS server will return control to the shell / GUI as soon as the request for deletion is processed - but the actuall deletion process will take longer (you can track it by running 'iwstat -c' periodically)
The deletion of an edition will delete versions of files that are not referenced by any other edition or area within TeamSite - i.e. if version 1 of file foo is in ed_001 but version 2 of foo is in ed_002 - deleting ed_001 will delete version 1 of foo. If, however, ed_002 also references version 1 of foo - then deleting ed_001 will *not* delete version 1 of foo (this is somewhat simplified, but hopefully sufficient for you to get an understanding)
--fish
Senior Consultant, Quotient Inc.
http://www.quotient-inc.com