Discussions
Categories
Groups
Community Home
Categories
INTERNAL ENABLEMENT
POPULAR
PUBLIC CLOUD
PRIVATE CLOUD
Quick Links
MY LINKS
HELPFUL TIPS
Back to website
Home
Web CMS (TeamSite)
Modified by
artor
Hi,
In teamsite inside Workarea, Modified by colums shows the name of the user who access the file most recently but my problem is that we have a backup process which runs every day and it access the file in order to take backup(incremental backup) or just scan but after this process when I see the teamsite, all files for Modified by column set to "root" because backup process is run by root account and it is confusing for different user to see who access this file last, however it doesn't have any side effect.
Please let me know if somebody come across this problem.
Regards,
A
Envrionment : Solaris 5.8, TeamSite 6.5
Find more posts tagged with
Comments
Nicholas
I think, these values(modified date/time/by) taken from the IFS so whatever changes applies there will reflect in TS, in your case your scan process running thru root so it is just showing the last modified user "root". You may test it by login thru root/other user and make some changes in a file and see the changes in TS?
artor
Yes there is change occured in the file if i try to login from other account and do something in the file
Nicholas
Okay that means TS takes these values from IFS. I don't think there will any way we could stop preventing the changes other than the TS. Someone could reply if there will some way to prevent it.
Thanks Nicholas
Adam Stoller
Looking at a file should not change the modified-by field.
Modifying an attribute of the file (like the Archive bit on Windows) *will* change the modified-by field.
You should make sure your backup software does *NOT* [try to] change the Archive bit (or any other attribute) on files located within the backing store.
--fish
Senior Consultant, Quotient Inc.
http://www.quotient-inc.com
Nicholas
Correct, software should not change this as it just a scanning process..
TestChart.rptdesign
Adam Stoller
Should not - perhaps.
Does not - needs to be verified - I believe most backup programs on Windows set/reset the Archive bit on files as they back them up - and you would need to make sure that this behavior is turned off (if possible) when backing up the TeamSite backing store (and also make sure not to backup the Y:\ drive at all)
--fish
Senior Consultant, Quotient Inc.
http://www.quotient-inc.com