Webtop experts out there,
Off late, I observed a weird problem with webtop and the way our users are using link/checkout/checkin feature.
Here is how our business users use webtop. Remember, during this entire process, user is always looking at "Show Files and Folders" in webtop. He never selects "Show All Objects and Versions" in webtop.
1) Every morning, they go to a common workpool folder and selects 25 objects/documents to work with
2) They add 25 selected objects to webtop clipboard
3) They then go to their home cabinet and paste these 25 objects as links in there. So, they now have 25 links pointing to common workpool folder in their home cabinet
4) Now, they checkout these 25 objects (just to tell other team members that they are working on these and to prevent concurrent updates). Effectively, 25 objects are checked out in workpool folder as well.
5) In his home cabinet, user works on these 25 objects. Updates meta/content or both. Then checks them in as minor version.
6) Now, internally, 25 more objects are created with version "1.1, CURRENT" and user sees 25 objects of this version in his home cabinet. 25 objects of version 1.0 are hidden from view now (remember, user is still in "Show Files and Folders" view).
7) Now that he is done with processing, he removes the links from his home cabinet by deleting them and selecting "Just the link to Home Cabinet" option.
8) So far so good right ?? Now, go to user home cabinet and select "Show All Objects and Versions".
9) You should see 25 orphaned objects that are of version 1.0 and in "Immutable" state. They are immutable because there is a newer version (1.1 or 1.2) and content server automatically locks older versions for sanity reasons.
User never knows that he is creating tons of immutable objects. It is a lot more difficult to identify and delete all these obsolete links from user home cabinets.
Any better ideas to improve this process? Thanks for your time in reading my lengthy post.
-Sarma.