Creating Your First AppWorks Service Questions

Options

Hi all, I'm new to AppWorks so this is my first go so please bear with me. I've followed the instructions using eclipse but on reaching the "Export the Service", I'm not sure in what directory to save the .war file. Is it within my development environment folders or directly to Tomcat's webapps? And the same for renaming as a zip.
Next it says "Your service can now be successfully deployed using the AppWorks Gateway Administration application to any AppWorks server!". I'm not sure where this is done if I'm not directly exporting the WAR via eclipse?
Thanks, Ken

Comments

• Hi Ken!

You can save the .war file into any directory that you have access to. The location you save it locally doesn't matter to AppWorks. For the example service, I saved the .war file to my desktop for easy access. Once the file is saved, then you can manually change the extension from .war to .zip (so myservice_1.0.0.war becomes myservice_1.0.0.zip).

When you have that bundle on your local machine (for example, on the desktop as I did above), you can then access the AppWorks Gateway Administration interface through your browser at the location where it was installed. Usually this would be on your Tomcat server at https://path-to-my-server/gateway.

Once you log into the AppWorks Gateway Administration area, there is an Install link in the left sidebar. Click that, and you'll be presented with a spot to upload your service. Click the button, navigate to where the myservice_1.0.0.zip file is located, and select it to upload. Follow the instructions through the process to automatically set up your application on the server - it will set up the rest for you.