Discussions
Categories
Groups
Community Home
Categories
INTERNAL ENABLEMENT
POPULAR
PUBLIC CLOUD
PRIVATE CLOUD
Quick Links
MY LINKS
HELPFUL TIPS
Back to website
Home
Web CMS (TeamSite)
tsgroups and possible corruption during upgrade to 6.7.2
DaveDeutsch
We are running TS 6.7.1 SP1 on Win2003. We use TeamSite groups exclusively in setting group permissions on workareas and files. We have updated our Test server to TS 6.7.2 and noticed something interesting: the group permissions are gone on workareas and files and the workarea "Sharing" setting is switched from "group" to "individual". There is only one exception to this: If our TeamSite group name could be found in a wildcard search of our corporate LDAP, the upgrade process seemed to put that LDAP group name in for the "Sharing" group, which is not at all desired (or accurate). My suspicion for the first case is that if our TeamSite group name cannot be found in the corporate LDAP, the "Shared" group value was just left blank.
We are going to re-establish our 6.7.1 SP1 baseline and run this upgrade again to validate what we saw. I'm submitting this post in advance of knowing those results because we're under a time crunch and would benefit from the experiences of others who have performed this upgrade on Win2003 and who use TeamSite groups. There is value too in knowing if no one else has had this problem in this scenario, so please comment either way.
Thank you in advance. I'll post again once I know the results of the second test.
Find more posts tagged with
Comments
DaveDeutsch
The results of the second test showed that indeed there were "Shared" groups assigned to workareas and folders in 6.7.1 SP1. Therefore we conclude based on our experience that the 6.7.2 upgrade process changed the Workarea ownership from "group" to "individual" and changed the "Shared" group value from some non-null value to null.
It is still inconclusive if our TeamSite group name was used in some wildcard match across the corporate LDAP groups and the match was used as the new "Shared" group value, if one was found. In this particular instance, the "Shared" group was already set to the LDAP group in 6.7.1 SP1 (our baseline at the start). Perhaps this was a consequence of a previous upgrade from 6.5.x to 6.7.x and was never caught back then.
DaveDeutsch
We ran the 6.7.2 upgrade after restoring our 6.7.1 SP1 baseline. This time the "Shared" groups look good. There are other security issues but at least this one didn't rear its head again. I do question the 6.7.2 uninstall process though and wonder what state it left our directories in before we installed 6.7.1 (up to SP1) again.
DaveDeutsch
In 6.7.2 the security domain information is moved to a different section in iw.cfg. We found if we modified iw.cfg prior to the upgrade to be consistent with the new format, the upgrade handled the workarea and file "Shared" group information successfully. If we didn't do that, we got the results stated when I originally opened this thread.