Discussions
Categories
Groups
Community Home
Categories
INTERNAL ENABLEMENT
POPULAR
PUBLIC CLOUD
PRIVATE CLOUD
Quick Links
MY LINKS
HELPFUL TIPS
Back to website
Home
Web CMS (TeamSite)
SP page edit
nirjari
A content contributor is working on a particular page. So, when he enters the url for that page, he lands on that page. Now, when he clicks on edit link on that page, login page for TeamSite pops up and CC has to enter his login credentials the he can login to the page he is trying to edit.
So in this case, content contributor can access only page he is allowed to work on. Thats the way content modification should be.
Now if the content contributor types in the url of the teamsite from the browser, rather than accessing it from edit link, then he can enter the TS interface and this time he has access to all the content of the TeamSite.
So on one hand, he is allowed to access only the page he is authorized to work on from edit link. On the other hand, once he gets the URL of th TS, he has access to everything on TS. As he is already created as user on TS. May be he has access to only one workarea, but still he has access to all the content in that workarea as oppossed to having access to only one page from edit link.
Is there a way that content contriutor can have access only to the page, he can access from edit link ? And not to all the content of the TS workarea ?
thanks
Find more posts tagged with
Comments
Adam Stoller
One of these days perhaps you'll get training.
Access to files and directories within a workarea is controlled by OS file system access rights (with some additional access provided to Master users).
This is why you should carefully set up access rights on directories as you create them, and also carefully maintain the submit.cfg file.
With some types of files - like FormsPublisher, and likely SitePublisher, files - you need to deal with access rights to more than one file and/or directory in order to provide proper access rights to your contributors (e.g.: A user cannot edit a DCR if they have access to the DCR but no access - i.e. no read access - to the DCT)
Just because a user can see a file within their workarea does not mean they have the access rights to edit it. If you don't want them to see it - place it within a more strictly controlled directory. If you don't want them to see the directory, put it in a more strictly controlled branch (NOTE: "branch"
not
"workarea")