Discussions
Categories
Groups
Community Home
Categories
INTERNAL ENABLEMENT
POPULAR
PUBLIC CLOUD
PRIVATE CLOUD
Quick Links
MY LINKS
HELPFUL TIPS
Back to website
Home
Web CMS (TeamSite)
Submit Locking Model
Natasha
Hi All,
We are using the Submit Locking Model for all the branches in TeamSite. Now, whenever any user edits a file, it doesn't lock the file until the user makes any change to the file. Assume that two users open the same file around the same time, makes their respective changes and save the file,now the user who has done the change later could see the changes and changes made by first user are lost. Ideally, whenever the user (1 or 2) saves the changes, it should lock the file and second user should get a message saying that the file has been locked by a user, you cannot save the changes until the lock is released. Is there any way to avoid such a scenario without manually locking the file before editing or a lock should appear whenever the user saves the changes to a file?
Note - This behavior has been specifically observed for .pages. I tried doing it for .html files(templated and/or non-templated files) but this locks the file after the changes have been saved.
Environment Details - TeamSite 6.7.1 SP1, Solaris 10, LiveSite 3.0.2
Thanks,
Natasha.
Find more posts tagged with
Comments
nipper
That is a new "feature" put into place by Interwoven in the 6.7 timeframe. It is loved by a number of customers and hated by others.
I do not know of a way to go back to the old, add lock on edit model.
I happen to like it because people click edit, cancel and forget to unlock. Admin is then required to unlock when someone else needs it unlocked.