We are looking to implement a content archival solution in TS 6.7.2(Windows 2003). The requirement is as follows.When the content has expired, the content will need to be moved into a branch (either sub-branch or a parallel branch, whichever works) along with its version history.Which command-line tools should i use for copying the content? Could i use OpenDeploy? Does it maintain version history?TIA.
As per the suggestions in this thread mentioned, u can use iwcp/iwupdate or easily can use 'Copy to' from the edit menu, but none of these will preserve your older versions if you delete the source directory. There is a related topic in TS admin guide.Regards,Pawan
Hi,Thanks a lot for all your response on this query.My findings..1. Tried the steps suggested by Ghoti. I realised that version history in branch B is always referenced back to branch A.2. So if i delete the edition in Branch A, i don't see the version info for that specific version in Branch B.My requirement is to totally diassociate both the contents once i copy over the content to branch_b while still retaining the version history.Can iwmigrate could be used to copy content from one branch to another branch within the same store??? I don't want to use an intermediate store.
Are you sure about that?If you delete the source branch - yes, you will delete all the old version history, but if you just delete the files in the source branch, their versions should remain intact.Is there a specific section in the Admin Guide that you believe corresponds to this?
Pls refer page-74 from TS_admin guide 671 UNIX.
As per the suggestions in this thread mentioned, u can use iwcp/iwupdate or easily can use 'Copy to' from the edit menu, but none of these will preserve your older versions if you delete the source directory. There is a related topic in TS admin guide.
If you do not need any of your old version history, you can create a new (empty) branch, create a workarea, copy all the old content into the workarea, then delete the old branch. Exercise extreme caution when doing this, as all version and metadata information will be irrevocably lost.