Using Teamsite 6.7.2/Win 2003
We have our application_custon.xml set so that files are locked once users launch edit. (<default-param id="iw.common.edit.lock_on_modification" value="false"/>) This helps to eliminate multiple issues, including but not limited to: changes being pushed to production before they really should be, and having multiple people try to edit the same file and save their changes at once.
However, this creates a problem when a user goes to edit a file, decides they chose the wrong file to edit, and closes the window. Although we've given a few select people the ability to unlock files, we're still frequently asked to unlock files for people.
Has anyone been able to set the locking configuration so that users can unlock JUST their own files that they've previously locked?
Yes, it's possible for users to cancel out of a form instead of closing the window; however: 1. they are not used to doing this, and: 2. they may potentially want to make a change, keep their change, and then have somebody else work on the file. It would not be sufficient to set up a workflow to do this- people sometimes need to collaborate in a way that isn't necessarily predictable.
If there was a way to unlock one's own file, but loose changes in the process, that might even be ok. But, at the moment, if a user reverts a file after it's become locked, that does not unlock it. "Undo changes" does not unlock either.
This thread (
http://devnet.interwoven.com/forums_vb/showthread.php?t=23252&page=1&pp=10) mentions: "My expectation would have been that some sort of AJAX-esque server call would happen in the background to apply the lock as soon as the form was modified (and released if cancelled)." This would also be ok...if there was a way to implement it.