Discussions
Categories
Groups
Community Home
Categories
INTERNAL ENABLEMENT
POPULAR
PUBLIC CLOUD
PRIVATE CLOUD
Quick Links
MY LINKS
HELPFUL TIPS
Back to website
Home
Web CMS (TeamSite)
Locking question
Hazzie
we are using submit locking.
If user A in workarea 1 edits a file, this file becomes locked.
If user B in workarea 2 edits the same file shortly afterwards but before User 1 submits then they get a warning saying the file is locked do you want to edit it. User B carrys on editing but when he comes to generate the file he gets an error saying the file is already locked to user A the template file was not generated.
My 2 questions are,
1) Is this correct teamsite behaviour?
2) If it is then why allow someone to edit a dcr, save it, but not allow them to generate the result? Whats the logic behind it as i am a little puzzled at that.
Hazzie
TS 5.5.2 on NT.
Find more posts tagged with
Comments
Adam Stoller
Does it prevent you from selecting a file for generating - or is it only complaining after you select a pre-existing file for overwriting by generating?
If the former, I would suggest you contact Interwoven Support and request a bug be opened against that behavior.
If the latter, then I would say it is correct behavior since the generated file is usually directly associated with the DCR being edited, and if you don't have a lock on the DCR you shouldn't be able to alter the contents of the [same] generated file (i.e. consider the case where user A changes the title field in the DCR and generates a new page in prepation for submitting both. If user B changes the title too - or any other field in the DCR - and overwrites the generated file produced by user A, then user A's submission would contain a DCR and generated file that weren't in sync with each other).
I would think that user B should be able to (a) Preview and (b) generate a different file than user A - if either of these don't work, contact Support.
--fish
(Interwoven Senior Technical Consultant)
Hazzie
Thanks for the info.
Tech support said that preventing a file from being generated from a DCR that was locked in another area was typical Teamsite behaviour.
I mentioned to them that if i used the saved and close button from the DCR template page, i got a message saying would i like to regenerate the page. Selecting regenerate also failed. However if i just used the save button then used the close button (not the save & close button) on the DCR, then selected Regenerate page from the FIle menu, the new file would be created and the locks would be ignored. I didnt quite understand the reasoning why Regenerate from the file menu will ignore all locks on the file and update the new file though.
Hazzie
TS 5.5.2 on NT.