Since Wally has since retired, I've been going through some of these old issues. This appears to be due to the override permissions in the admin role. See attached img.
Essentially it states "View and modify files in workareas where they are not a member of the group designated for sharing" allowing the user to have rw- access in workareas that the user is not implicitly defined to have access.