Hello!
A problem I have been having for a very long time is that every user can see every task. For basic content, we are using a very simple workflow process:
Content Author submits new DCR to start a workflow. An email notification goes to our photo library staff who find an appropriate photo, add it to the DCR (Through a custom callout) and submit it on. Then the Web Editorial staff gets and e-mail and they edit, revise, etc, then submit it on (or reject it to the photo crew if they don't like the photo). It never goes back to the author, because by policy, the web editor has final say on all web content, and so any significant changes are handled offline via a meeting, and the editor then makes changes to the DCR. Then, when the copy is final, it's submitted to the web team for technical approval. Then, by approving that task, a script generates, submits and deploys the new revision to our web staging server for final testing and deployment.
The problem is... The content creators (who are all Author roles, and rather non-technical), the photo staff and the web editors (who are all also Author roles), can see every user task in the workflow. So, what this means simply, is that the content creator could, if they wanted, take the Web Team task (either intentionally, or accidentally) and approve it, which, if the notifications some slip under the radar, could mean anything could end up on the production site without actual approval...
Sorry for the long lead in to the question.... How can I secure the workflow tasks so that only the group that is assigned the task can see it? Each group is it's own Windows permissions group, and it doesn't matter what individual user within the group gets the task.
Thanks!
.c
Michael Langford, Webmaster - CARE USA
151 Ellis Street, Atlanta, GA, 30303
http://www.care.org/