Dynamically controlling cell background color

jamesniles
jamesniles Member
edited February 11, 2022 in Analytics #1
I'm fairly new to the birt reporting applicaiton and have a question regarding designing. I'd like to be able to dynamically control the background color of a cell based on the value of a data column (either by way of condition highlight or in property backgroud color). Is there a fairly easy way to be able to do something like this. What I'm trying to create is a pretty simple legend of people's name with an associated color next to them (which is all stored within my SQL database).<br />
<br />
I appreciate any help in this!<br />
<br />
+++++++++++++++++++++++<br />
<br />
<list-property name="highlightRules"><br />
<structure><br />
<property name="operator">eq</property><br />
<property name="backgroundColor">red</property><br />
<expression name="testExpr" type="javascript">row["color"]</expression><br />
<simple-property-list name="value1"><br />
<value type="javascript">row["color"]</value><br />
</simple-property-list><br />
</structure><br />
</list-property><br />
<br />
Instead what I would like to see is<br />
<br />
<list-property name="highlightRules"><br />
<structure><br />
<property name="operator">eq</property><br />
<property name="backgroundColor"><strong class='bbc'>row["color"]</</strong>property><br />
<expression name="testExpr" type="javascript">row["color"]</expression><br />
<simple-property-list name="value1"><br />
<value type="javascript">row["color"]</value><br />
</simple-property-list><br />
</structure><br />
</list-property><br />
<br />
or<br />
<br />
<cell id="15"><br />
<property name="backgroundColor">red</property><br />
<data id="25"><br />
<property name="whiteSpace">nowrap</property><br />
<property name="resultSetColumn">color</property><br />
</data><br />
</cell><br />
<br />
<cell id="15"><br />
<property name="backgroundColor"><strong class='bbc'>dataSetRow["color"]</</strong>property><br />