User Management > Can I access content for a user in my tenant of OpenText Core?

JWeirJWeir Sr. Communications SpecialistEM mod

While an Administrator of an account can view what files/folders are being shared by any user in their OpenText Core tenant, as well as content that is being shared with that user, they CANNOT view or otherwise access/modify/move/delete any content.

If suspicious activity or materials that should not be shared (or otherwise breach information management policy for the company/tenant) are identified, there are a couple of actions that Administrators can take:

  • Folder and file shares by a user can be "revoked" by selecting the file/folder and using "Revoke" to unshare the files/folders.This will prevent access to any unauthorized shares and the Administrator can notify the user of the potential breach of policy and advise them not to share the content in the future.
  • The user account can be "locked" from the User Admin console to prevent the user from logging in and accessing/sharing materials until such time that an investigation is conducted.
  • The user account can be "disabled" and all shares will be automatically be revoked, preventing collaborators from accessing and modifying the content.
  • If access to a user's content is absolutely required, the account can be locked, then "delegated" to another user (typically a manager or higher). This will disable the account - preventing access by the user - and retain all shares. However, the delegate can revoke shares, access content, modify and move content, etc. This action is typically reserved for staff/users that leave the company, however if access to content is absolutely required, an account delegation can be performed.

If you have any questions or require assistance, you can contact us here on the Forum or via [email protected]

Regards,

Jay Weir

Jay Weir
Sr. Communications Specialist
OpenText

Comments

  • •If access to a user's content is absolutely required, the account can be locked, then "delegated" to another user (typically a manager or higher). This will disable the account - preventing access by the user - and retain all shares. However, the delegate can revoke shares, access content, modify and move content, etc. This action is typically reserved for staff/users that leave the company, however if access to content is absolutely required, an account delegation can be performed.

    In relation to the "delegation" above. 1. How would this be performed? Any instructions would be appreciated.

  • Hi Alex,

    Thank you for your question! I have created a support ticket and we will continue communication via ticket #4322816.

    Thanks, Alex! Please standby for the instructions on delegation.

    Regards,
    Zeke

  • JWeirJWeir Sr. Communications Specialist EM mod

    Thanks for taking this on for Alex, Zeke, very much appreciated.
    For the benefit of others interested in this topic/question, an account of a Core Share tenant "member" can be delegated with all content and shares intact:
    1) SSO enabled users - the account of a departed member (resignation, termination, etc.) will automatically be locked when the Active Directory profile is locked. The Core Share account will be inaccessible, but by doing a user lookup in the Users administration page and selecting the user will provide the option "Assign Delegate" - an email/user name can be assigned to the account and the delegate will see a folder with the user name and a date, similar to "Jay Weir 12/01/2019" in their Files List of Core Share.

    2) For non SSO users - The account must be locked manually in the Core Share Users admin page. Once done, the locked user can be searched, selected and a delegate assigned.

    Hope this is helpful,
    Jay.

    Jay Weir
    Sr. Communications Specialist
    OpenText

  • Thanks for the response. Very much appreciated.

Sign In or Register to comment.