Rounding issues?

Options
Tom
Tom
edited February 11, 2022 in Analytics #1
Hi guys, I'm new to BIRT so please pardon my n00bish questions. I'm sure I'll have quite a few.

I'm running a report with a table where I'm trying to calculate what is essentially an average. I expect these averages to always be very close to 1 (i.e. 0.99876). To do this, I'm running a query where I'm getting two "Count" results, lets call them "Count of P" and "Count of F". The number I need to calculate is:

("Count of P")/("Count of P" + "Count of F")

I had no problem getting BIRT to do this, but I am running into an issue. It appears that, no matter what I do, for decimal values very close to 1 (like, for example, 0.9999), BIRT rounds up to 1.

At first, to calculate the average, I was using the following expression:

row["Count of P"] / (row["Count of P"] + row["Count of F"])

That seemed to work fine, except, as I mentioned above, when values were very close to 1. Thinking it might be a JavaScript rounding thing, I switched to this expression:

Finance.percent((dataSetRow["Count of P"]+ dataSetRow["Count of F"]), dataSetRow["Count of P"])

Which gives me the same exact result, except *100. So, instead of getting 99.99, I get 100.

I also tried messing with the "Format Number" settings. I set it to custom with a Format Code of "#0.0000000000". Still the same problem.

Any ideas?

Comments

• Virgil Dodson
    Virgil Dodson E admin
    edited December 31, 1969 #2
    Options
    Hi Tom,

Are you selecting Decimal for your type? Also, are you creating this computed field within a report element, or as a computed column on the data set? I created a quick test as a computed column on the data set and then formatted that field on the report as fixed 5 decimal places. I don't see the rounding problem you are seeing.... except that (6) 9's after the decimal .999999 correctly rounds to 1 when I select round to 5 decimal places.