Can I use cookies to recall user selected parameters from last visit?

Jenkinsj5
edited February 11, 2022 in Analytics #1
Can I use cookies to recall user selected parameters from last visit?<br />
<br />
I have a report that is available to a few hundred users, and one of the parameters has a couple hundred choices in a list box (<em class='bbc'>multiple allowed</em>). The report is delivered in HTML via Apache Tomcat 7.0. <br />
<br />
I am very new to JavaScript, but it seems like it should be fairly easy to capture the user selected parameters when the report is run, and send them to a cookie. Then on the user?s next visit grab the values from the cookie and preselect them in the list box. <br />
<br />
I searched the forums and the web and did not find anything. <br />
<br />
Apache Tomcat 7.0 <br />
BIRT 4.2
Warning No formatter is installed for the format ipb

Comments

• mwilliams
    edited December 31, 1969 #2
    You want the previously selected values to be filled out in the parameter page already? Or for the report to run with those values, automatically?
  • Jenkinsj5
    edited December 31, 1969 #3
    I want them to be filled out in the parameter page already. The user would then select date parameters and run the report.
  • mwilliams
    edited December 31, 1969 #4
    You could probably modify the parameter js pages to allow you to read in a cookie to fill out the parameter values.
  • Jenkinsj5
    edited December 31, 1969 #5
    Thanks, I will see if I can make that work.
  • mwilliams
    edited December 31, 1969 #6
    Let me know if it works for you. I haven't tried it, so it'd be interesting to hear if you get it.
  • Jenkinsj5
    edited December 31, 1969 #7
    This is my when nothing else is happening project so it may take a while to get it all worked out.

After some research, I am moving in a slightly different direction, to achieve this and a related goal.

1. Auto populate report parameters with last values per user