Archiving in iHub

What is the purpose of archiving and purging.


1) If archived, where does the archived files are stored?


2) If storage path (file in shared/storage) is taken care for backup, is archiving really required?


Comments

  • Hi bcmp,


     


    Information about the archiving can be found in the iHub documentation:


    http://developer.actuate.com/be/documentation/ihub31-dev/appadmin/index.html#page/appadmin%2FAAG-ManagingVolumes.3.4.html


     


    1.) By default, an archived file is deleted and not saved.  You would need to setup an archive.jar to "archive" the files before deletion or you could use IDAPI to download the files to a shared location as an archive before they are deleted. NOTE: Setting up the archive.jar requires a second volume, which requires a special license.  If you choose to do this, please contact [email protected] to get a multi-volume license. If you are having trouble with the documentation and the archive.jar, it may be easiest to open a support ticket by contacting [email protected]


     


    2.) If you perform a valid backup of the storage and metadata, you could sort of use it like archiving.  It may be difficult to get the data back, as you'd need to load it into a test system or the like.  This method is usually poor way of archiving old files, as the archive techniques will be running daily or weekly, which would cause a large number of backups to be kept historically to be required for this route.


     


    Management of your files and how long you keep them or if you save a copy of them are up to the individual company, so we cannot speak as to if archiving is required.  It is a good idea to manage your files to prevent issues from data growth, but it is technically not a required option and is not enabled by default.


    Regards,

    Jeffrey Neneman

    OpenText - Analytics: http://www.opentext.com
Sign In or Register to comment.