Change Destination with TBO

thomas.hasler
edited September 3, 2008 in Documentum #1

I am quite new to Documentum i need some help.

The idea is that the users work with a few views and check in documents in that views. But i want to put the documents in some kind of data pool and only link them in the several views.

Example:

I have a Cabinet /Data where all the Documents should be saved.

The users work with views like

/Projects/Projectnumber/Projectname

Whenever a user checks in a document in this structure, the document shoud be saved in /Data and only the link should be in /Projects/Projectnumer/Projectname...

Can somebody help me out?

Comments

• Chris_Campbell
    edited September 3, 2008 #2

What you're asking for is fairly simple, the only catch is to make sure that it's done properly. I'll divide my answers into two messages: the first dealing with the specific problem, and the second dealing with the strategy that you're currently using.

At first glance, you'd think that you would want to override doCheckin. As we say in Texas, that's like closing the barn doors after the horses have gotten out. The link to your desired folder when the document is first created or imported. That's going to be overriding doSaveAsNew. Once the link is established (ie "link,session,obj_id, folder_ specification|alias") for your document, you never have to worry about it again.

This is going to be your best approach if all your documents are currently in your /Data directory and you want to automatically handle any new stuff coming in. Now, if you want to get fancy and have documents automagically link to the correct project folder, you're going to need to base the file location on an alias or through a document attribute read in as a variable. Aliases can be very easy to use and change. Using a document attribute is a bit more difficult, but I personally find them much easier to use and control.