Pass Optional parameter in Report

Rajesh Kakawat
edited February 11, 2022 in Analytics #1
Hi ,
I am new to birt, I have made reports which 4 to 6 parameter and i have integrated the report in jsp .
I am using hibernate connection for database
all thing are working well .But the problem i want to pass optional parameter to report .how can i do this staff
I have changed the Parameter and have unchecked IsRequired but Still it not working. it doesn't take any null value and throw error
and then tried it writing Dynamic Query in database Script on BeforeOpen but still it no working
Please somebody help me
sorry for poor english
Thanx

Comments

• mwilliams
    edited December 31, 1969 #2
    Hi Rajesh007,

If you make the parameter optional, you'll need to add the portion of your where statement that uses this parameter using script. In your beforeOpen method of your dataSet, you'd use a statement like:

if (params["paramName"] != null){
    this.queryText = this.queryText + " where dbTable.dbStringField = '" + params["stringParam"] + "'";
    }

If it's an integer or float value, you wouldn't need the single tick quotes(') surrounding the parameter value.

Hope this helps.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format ipb
  • Rajesh Kakawat
    edited December 31, 1969 #3
    Thanks i have solved
    but anyway thanks for precious reply
    thank you very much
  • Rajesh Kakawat
    edited September 25, 2010 #4
    But i think dateTime does not work in this manner
    The parameter doesn't take null value
    i am using hql query like this
    hql query + where invoiceDate between ? and ?

where invoiceDate is field of my Database

For the above problem i am providing default parameter with wide range of Date if user does not input any Date

Is ther any other way to do this stuff ?
    Sorry for poor English

thanks
  • mwilliams
    edited December 31, 1969 #5