How to dynamically set page orientation?

anoopnai
edited February 11, 2022 in Analytics #1

Hello all BIRT experts,

I’m just a beginner in BIRT and need your help to achieve following requirements to design a layout with three pages.

Here are my requirements for the design.

1. First page is a covering letter that contain static text – This page should be always on portrait orientation
  2. Second page has fixed number of rows – This page should be always on portrait orientation
  3. Third page has fixed number of columns – Number of columns need to be on the third page would differ based on the data. so requirement is to display the third page in portrait orientation if there are only 10 or less number of columns. If more than 10 columns, third page needs to be on landscape orientation.

I have three master pages in my layout and each of them are created for each pages. How do I dynamically change the orientation only for third page based on a condition? I can write a condition based on fields present in each of those columns .. but, i'm missing the line of code that i need to write to get this working.

-Thank you
Anoop

Answers

• Could you clarify why the orientation needs to be dynamic based on number of columns? Is the report dynamically creating columns? If not, why not just hard code it to make the third page portrait or landscape?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format ipb
  • Hi Chad, thanks for your response.

Yes, report dynamically creating columns.

Columns less than or equal to 10 would fit in the third page if orientation is portrait. If there are 10 columns or more, data won't be printed properly in portrait as some of the columns will get shrink. so requirement is to generate a landscape based layout in such cases.