Home General

Cats/Atts value updates (batch process or find/replace) options

We have discovered that some of the source metadata that was imported to Content Server was incorrect. We need to update that data on specific documents. My questions:
  1. Does the Content Server API support an "Update" function?
  2. Does Content Server have a "batch process" / "Find & Replace" function for metadata?
  3. Is there a common solution to fixing this problem? 
Not being a developer, my thought was since we know the "right answer" to correct the metadata, can we create a source record and import that data to update/replace the incorrect data? 

Thank you

Comments

• I had a similar scenario and the answer I got was to use a WebReport.
  • The CS REST API supports Categories/Attributes updates.  You will need HTML and JavaScript to do this.

The other option is WebReport as Francois mentioned.  If you do not know WebReport coding, there is a steep learning curve.  You may also need HTML and JavaScript skills depending on how fancy you want to do the job.
  • Syntergy an OpenText Partner offer solutions to address this:

Syntergy Data Manager - http://syntergy.com/products/content_management/datamanager/index.html

We can lease you the software for the duration of the project.

Regards,

Vijay
  • I appreciate the responses.

Is there a specific Webreport to use?
    Or is the "answer" create a solution using a Webreport? A steep learning curve does not surprise me. ;) 
  • You have to code a WebReport.
  • RayTsui said:
    You have to code a WebReport.

Thanks Ray!

I figured that was the case...why would it be easy?  :)

Alternatively, I have a lead on a program partner that fills the Content Server void. Thanks Vijay!