Home General

How do I use the APIs in the API Guide?

Ok, so Im an extremely elementary programmer.  I was wondering if anyone had a shell template code of some sort that shows a few examples of putting an API into a webpage.  I can figure out the HTML formatting... I know a little about CSS and I'm sure I can mess with it to get it the way I want to see it.  But, I'm just not even sure how to start... (Maybe I'm completely wrong about using the APIs with a website...  maybe it should be c++ or c#....)

Comments

• Which API are you talking about?  OT has many.
  • I'm looking at the Rightfax 10.6 FP3 API Reference Guide.  Here's an example of one API I could use...

DWORD RFAXAPI RFaxStatusGetValues (
    IN RFAXSTATUSHANDLE hServer,
    IN unsigned long ulCount,
    IN OUT STATUSVALUEENTRY *aValues
    );

But, I doubt just throwing this into a webpage or program and compiling it is going to work at all.  How does it know my server name?  How does it connect to it?  (Maybe I need to run the code directly from the server?)  

What would be nice is to have a shell program or website that shows me how to use some of the APIs and then I'll play around with it and go from there.
  • It looks to me like the above code is defining a function of some sort.  But then I would need to call the RFAXAPI or RFaxStatusGetValues from something else.  
  • That is an API function for the C programming language.  You call it from a program written in C or C++.

I am looking at the RightFax 20.2 API Reference Guide.  It has a code segment showing how to use this function.  You can put this within a main() function, compile and run it.  The code makes a call to another function to obtain a handle, with a server name as parameter.  Use the handle to call RFaxStatusGetValues.

If you want to do this from a webpage, looks like the RightFax Web API is what you need.  I found the installation guide but not the API documentation on the KC.