xECM Business Application Connection test failed for <###>. Could not create the object..

Hi All,

I was configuring new External Business Application for xECM for Salesforce in Content Server. My connection test failed. It says "Could not create object". What log should this spit the error. Error will be logged on the CS side or Salesforce side? I'm new to OTCS &xECM for Salesforce.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks;

Shibu

Comments

• appuq
    edited January 3, 2023 #2

in the CS server application there will be a file traditional in the logging area ,you may have to increase the logging and if you are new to all of this calling oopentext for support may get this all faster. The SalesForce adapter is a java classfile that may show what is going on.

The file usually is called ECMLink.log

Most likely since your URL is https you probably may never have attempted setting the certificate stores etc. correctly it doesn't hurt t check all those SF URLs in a browser from the CS server to see if it can reach there

• Thanks Appu

I reached out CS and got a fix. For anyone who run into this issue follow these steps:

You need to append security token to the salesforce password you provided in External Application configuration. In my case I had to reset my security token. You can get to the reset page from vie profile-->setting.

Upon resetting, append security token to the password and update the change. Go back and do the testing again and it should give you a connection successful message.

• Hey, It seems like you're encountering a common stumbling block when setting up a new External Business Application for xECM for Salesforce in Content Server. The "Could not create object" error typically arises due to configuration issues, whether on the Salesforce side, the Content Server side, or both.